Skip to Content

Top Resort and Course Welcome LPGA’s CME Group Tour Championship and
PGA’s Franklin Templeton Shootout Back to Naples

NAPLES, Fla. (September, 2016) – Tiburón Golf Club at The Ritz-Carlton Golf Resort, Naples welcomes back golf’s elite during the CME Group Tour Championship and Franklin Templeton Shootout, marking the exciting return of one of Southwest Florida’s top courses. The Gold course was recently transformed – under the direction of Greg Norman, who originally designed the course in 1998 – making it more challenging, and strategic. Enhancements include new hole locations, pot bunkers, expanded turf and more.

The CME Group Tour Championship, featuring the best female golfers from around the globe, will be played November 15 - 20. The event, which is the grand finale of the 2016 LPGA Tour season, will see the champion take home $500,000 while the player who accumulates the most points in the season-long CME Race to the Globe, will win $1,000,000, the largest payout on the LPGA Tour. Last year, Crisite Kerr captured the 2015 CME Group Tour Championship for her second win of the season.  World No. 1 Lydia Ko won the season long Race to the CME Globe for the second consecutive year.  

Additionally, December 5 - 10, the Franklin Templeton Shootout, hosted by World Golf Hall of Fame member, Greg Norman, will once again welcome 24 of the world’s best golfers to Naples.  Competing for a $3.1 million purse, golf’s top professionals will play on two-man teams in a mixed format of scramble, modified-alternate shot and better ball. In 2015, Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker birdied the last two holes to win the 2015 event. Naples only PGA TOUR event will once again be televised to an international audience on Golf Channel and FOX and will benefit a variety of worthy charities including CureSearch for Children’s Cancer.

All registered guests of the beach and golf resorts will receive complimentary grounds access to both the CME Group Tour Championship and Franklin Templeton Shootout events.

For more information, and ticket packages, please visit and

At the time of this release, golfers who have qualified to play in 2016 CME Group Tour Championship include Lexi Thompson, Minjee Lee, Anna Nordqvist, Ha Na Jang, Ariya Jutanugarn and 2015 Race to the CME Globe Champion, Lydia Ko.