What is required by the state of Massachusetts for a legal wedding ceremony?
All persons who wish to be married in Massachusetts must have a marriage license issued within the state of Massachusetts. Out-of-state marriage licenses cannot be used in Massachusetts.
The couple must apply in person for a marriage intention application. This requirement applies to both residents and non-residents.
The city of Boston can only issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples from out of state if the couple intends to reside in Massachusetts after the marriage.
There is a three (3) day waiting period to receive your license. License is valid for sixty (60) days from the day you originally file and may be used in any city or town within the Commonwealth. This license cannot be used outside of this state. A waiver of the three (3) day waiting period can be applied for at the city or town clerk’s office where you apply, and then presented to a court of competent jurisdiction for approval.
Any person filing in Massachusetts who has been married and is divorced does not have to file divorce papers, but that individual’s divorce must be final at the time of the application date.
Federal Statutes require the collection of Social Security numbers (SSNs) at the time of application.
When either person is under eighteen (18) years old, a court order must be obtained from the probate court or district court where the minor resides. The parent must accompany the underage person along with the eligible person to court prior to filing for the license. In Boston, proof of age is required if under the age of twenty-four (24). For proof of age, a certified birth record or passport is required.
A Priest, Minister, Rabbi, or Justice of the Peace may perform the ceremony. A Justice of the Peace does not require witnesses to the ceremony. Some religions may require witnesses, so you should contact such person(s) before the ceremony so that the requirement can be met.
The person who performs the ceremony of marriage must sign the license and return it to the city or town where it was issued. That is the only place where the license will be registered.
Out-of-state clergy may perform the ceremony here provided authorization has been obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office at the McCormack Building prior to the ceremony. An office has been set aside for this purpose at the Public Records Division, Department of State Secretary, One Ashburton Place, Room, 1701, Boston, MA 02108. Tel (617) 727-2836. The marriage license will not be registered unless the required authorization is enclosed with the license.
The fee for a Marriage License in Boston is $50 USD (cash only). For further information call (617) 635-4179.
What do I need to know before contacting the hotel?
You should know the estimated number of guests, a date, and an approximate budget for your event. If possible, choose a few alternative dates in case your first choice is not available.
How far in advance should I reserve the date?
Although The Ritz-Carlton, Boston often fills the most popular dates as far as two years in advance, other dates are typically available with less notice. Contact the hotel for more information about available dates.
What is the average cost per person for food and beverage for my wedding at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston?
Based on our current banquet menus, you may expect to spend on average, $135 - $200 USD per person for lunch and $235 - $325 USD per person for dinner, both of which are exclusive of service charge and sales tax. These averages include hors d’oeuvres for your welcome reception, a three-course plated meal, a wedding cake, wine service with the meal, champagne toast, and an open, hosted bar for the entire event, based on a moderate drinking group. Please be aware that our menu items and pricing are subject to change and are guaranteed 90 days in advance. Your final menu pricing will be based on your actual selections.
What are the deposits based on and when are they due?
An initial deposit of $5,000 USD is required to confirm your wedding day and reserve the space. Additional deposits and full prepayment are required fourteen (14) business days prior to your event. Deposits are non-refundable and non-transferable.
When do I need to tell The Ritz-Carlton exactly how many guests will be attending my wedding?
The hotel requires the final guarantee of attendants to be communicated to the catering office no later than noon at least three (3) business days prior to the date of your scheduled event. If the guaranteed number is not provided, the billing will be for the greater of the following: (1) The number of persons for which the party was originally booked or (2) The number of persons in attendance. The hotel will prepare and set for five percent (5%) above the guarantee if requested.
Do the bride and groom get a complimentary room for the wedding night?
The hotel provides a complimentary Suite for the bride and groom on the night of their wedding. The complimentary Suite is offered with a minimum of 100 guests in attendance at the reception.
Are there special room rates for wedding guests?
For family and friends of the wedding party, The Ritz-Carlton, Boston will be happy to quote preferential rates for the week of the event. A block of ten to fifteen (10-15) rooms will be held for guests at a preferential rate, per night plus applicable taxes for Deluxe City View rooms.
What local laws affect events at The Ritz-Carlton?
Due to Massachusetts State law, no alcoholic beverage may be served until 12 p.m. on Sundays.
What weather should I expect at The Ritz-Carlton, Boston?
Boston has four seasons: Fall, Winter, Spring, and Summer